Finding Love Online with a Disability

Huzzah! One of my babies was sent out into the world today!

Unfortunately, it is common for people that are disabled to either:

a. Be stereotyped as “Oh, they’re disabled. They won’t find anyone” by outsiders.

or

b. Give up on finding love due to these assumptions or bad dating experiences.

I was too much of a die-hard romantic and stubborn to do either of these things.

http://includedmag.com/featured/finding-love-online-with-a-disability/

I know it’s another article post. I hope I can hop on here and explain some things this week.

One thought on “Finding Love Online with a Disability

  1. I’ve never dated. In my teen years, I lived in a boys only boarding school, or was pretty much isolated from girls. There wasn’t much contact with other gender, aside from a few other places.

    Not much chance of developing romance in such an environment. The thing is, I am even more isolated from women in my adult years. And now, I’m mostly focus on my creative ventures and my career.

    But yeah, these assumptions always get in a way. Like there are many relatives who think that I will marry a blind woman, just because I’m blind myself, and no sane thinking woman with sight ever marry me. It doesn’t bother me much, because their opinion doesn’t matter to me. But my mother gets hurt easily by these remarks.

    Like

Leave a comment